The Beauty (and Loneliness) of Transiency

You may have noticed my brief hiatus from blogging for the past month or so. I have been finishing up work before maternity leave (more on my feelings about maternity leave later..) and packing up my belongings and moving out of state.

My husband got a wonderful job in Arizona and after months of prayer & struggle, God provided us a job in a new place – Tucson. This makes Arizona the fourth state that I’ve lived in in the last five years. I’m excited about getting to know this area – the restaurants (I’m a foodie), the sites, and the people. I’m excited that our baby boy will be born in the same state as his dad (BTW 3 weeks until DUE DATE!).

With that said, I am already looking forward to the next potential state. Now that we have a baby on the way, E & I have decided that we’d like to be somewhat settled by the time our boy goes to school. That may seem  way far away, but if everyone’s “time flies” advice is correct then it’s time to start thinking about those things. So here I am, an Arizonan for less than two weeks already looking elsewhere.

My Dad joked that I am the most transient person in our family, and I think he’s right. I tried to look up synonyms for transience and was bombarded with words with negative connotations. I don’t think that moving around is a bad thing. I have experienced a lot in the different places that I’ve lived (California, Kansas, Oklahoma, & Arizona). There are times that moving and starting somewhere new is lonely (that was especially true about Oklahoma), but you get to meet people in different walks of life. As an English nerd, I’ve had the opportunity to experience different dialects, phrases that I’ve never heard of, and different linguistic norms (People in KS & OK actually call soda pop – Crazy! And nobody know what I’m talking about when I call someone a “bro”). As a teacher, I have seen different styles of professional development, educational practices, and qualities of education (which differ immensely from state-to-state). I have surfed in the Pacific ocean (I was AWFUL, but I did it!), worked on a farm in a teeny tiny Kansas town, experienced the intense ice storms in Oklahoma, and visited the historic desert town, Tombstone. Even though at times the moves and living far from family have been hard, I have loved every second of it. Eventually my wanderlust will need to be tamed or at least channeled into family trips, but for now I am content checking out the new town I’m in while dreaming about small towns on the East Coast. 🙂

images

Leave a Reply

