The Waiting Game

Col 3_12 color

Patience has always been a struggle of mine above all else. I’m impatient before I even have to start waiting for things. It’s that bad. I have come to realize that pregnancy (and parenthood) are both marathon-long tests of patience. Since becoming pregnant, I waited fearfully & impatiently for the second trimester to begin, to find out the gender, for third trimester to begin, to start “showing”, for maternity leave, and now for baby to make his appearance. Parenthood will bring its own slew of issues that require my patience – I’m sure, but I don’t want to be one of those people who is always waiting for the next thing. I want to be an “in the now” person. I want to (forgive the cliche) live in the moment. I don’t want to be the person who is never satisfied because, honestly, those people are no fun to be around.

So here is my plan: I’m not going to pray for patience – my husband & I have made that mistake before! 😉 However, I am going to start enjoying the little things & be thankful in everyday situations (even if I’m waddling around the mall at 41 weeks pregnant begging God to send the baby already!). Because regardless of the situations – good or bad – they are beautiful moments that help mold us into who we are supposed to become.

Leave a Reply

