Minimalism & Spring Cleaning

When I start a conversation with my husband with “so today I was reading this blog,” he KNOWS that I am going to get totally stuck on some new lifestyle idea, goal, or reason why we HAVE to buy chickens today. My poor husband. With that said, I have started reading a lot about the freedom of minimalism. This might be his favorite idea that I have stumbled across.

Wait, you’re telling me you want to get rid of a bunch of stuff that we don’t use… what’s the catch?

Yes, husband. That IS what minimalism is. Get rid of what you don’t use. Keep what you  actually use. No human being needs 73 blankets – especially when you live in Arizona. The whole point of minimalism is to simplify your life. You have what you need – no more, no less.

So, I am making some Spring Cleaning Minimalist Goals for this year.

  1. Create a capsule wardrobe and get rid of the stuff you haven’t worn in the last year. If you would not pay money for that outfit TODAY, then get rid of it.
  2. Get rid of the 15+ towels we have. We are a small family of three. There is no need to have a double-digit number of towels.
  3. Wash & pack up everything that Isaac has outgrown. *Tear* I have been in denial about the fact that he is getting close to that one-year mark!
  4. Go through the ENTIRE kitchen. Try to justify why you have 7 spatulas. Fail. Get rid of them.
  5. Fun One: Get some cute patio furniture & lights. Get some herbs and flowers. USE YOUR BALCONY.
Leave a Reply

