Face-Palm Moments

Please tell me that I am not alone. That people regularly have “face-palm moments”. Moments where you are embarrassed, ashamed, & mortified by something that you have said or done.

I’m not alone? Thank God!

Often times, I do and say things that I majorly regret 5 seconds later. In those moments, I feel so low & so far from the Christian woman that I aim to be. Goodness, if only there was a biblical story about someone who had a face-palm moment to make me feel better. Oh wait, the Bible is FILLED with them. Peter, Sarah, Abraham, Moses, Judas, Danial, Joseph, Solomon… you get the picture. Today, I just want to focus on one.

P E T E R

Peter is one of my favorites. I’m not sure why, but it is probably because he is so relate-able. He tells (and proudly promises) that he would NEVER deny Jesus, but, sure enough, he does. THREE TIMES. Peter was filled with doubt (Jesus & the storm, anyone?) and fear – two emotions that we succumb to all the time. I am so thankful that people like Peter weren’t taken out of the Bible. It is refreshing to know that I am not alone in my struggles, mistakes, and sin; people like Peter are dancing in heaven with our Lord & Savior despite his flaws and failures because our God is one of forgiveness, mercy, and grace.

Here’s to living life with as little face-palm moments as possible, and knowing that God loves you anyways.

Leave a Reply

