The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

b o o k   r e v i e w

I finally caved and  bought “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” by Marie Kondo (find it here!). I swear, this book has been haunting me – at basically every store that I go to. Despite some eye rolls from my husband, I bought it. I read through almost all of it (I have a 10-month-old, reading is a struggle!), and I love it.

I am the daughter of a hoarder (sorry mom, love ya!). So I have kept high school theater t-shirts, dresses that don’t fit any more “just in case I lose an extra ten pounds”, jeans with unintentional holes, empty CD cases, and a million other knick-knacky items. Moving in with my husband helped. Moving into smaller quarters helped. But it NEVER helped with my closet. I always found excuses to hang on to out-of-style outfits that I never wore. They had sentimental value. Maybe someday I would wear them. This book finally freed me from that mindset.

Her whole mantra is: if it doesn’t spark joy, get rid of it. If you wouldn’t pay money for it today, get rid of it. So, I actually followed her advice and got rid of a TON of clothes. I feel so much lighter. My closet can breathe. I can do my laundry in a load and a half (not the daunting 5-6). I don’t agree with everything that she said – her belief that clothes should be folded a certain way to avoid hurting their feelings was a bit odd – but I am happy that I bought it and have some freedom from clutter.

2 thoughts on “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

  1. It made me giggle about not hurting the clothes feelings. Most people have enough stress without worrying about that. I do agree it helps to get rid of clothes because some day you may get in them. I had pants that ranged from size 5 to size 16 because some day I would lose weight. I finally got rid of size 12 or smaller, and it gave me a ton of space.

    Like

Leave a Reply

