The Joys & Struggles of Motherhood

Oh, motherhood. This chapter has brought me immense joy & thankfulness. It has taught me to think of others before myself. It has taught me that I can actually survive on little to no sleep 😉 It has taught me about unconditional love.

I think there are two types of mothers:

  1. Those who want to work AND want a career simultaneously
  2. Those who want to spend all their days with their kiddos

Neither one of these options is better than the other.

I used to think that I fell in the former category. I have always wanted to teach. I love teaching. I am passionate about it. Give me all the books and lesson plans. I love it.

However, I am realizing that I definitely fall into the latter category. Perhaps this is because my passion DOES lie in teaching and kids anyways. Staying home with kids WOULD be fulfilling for me because it allows me to live out what I already love to do (and to do it with my own kids).

Now, I can see arguments for both sides. I don’t think either side produces a “perfect mother” because everyone has their own niche that works best for them and their family.

I think that either side has days where “the grass is greener” elsewhere, and that is OK.

p.s. My husband and I finally got our (almost!) 11-month-old sleep-trained. He was a rockstar, and we are so, so glad that we did it. Everyone is sleeping better in our home! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

