To the Beat of My Own Drum

Shout Out to those of us who are considered weird, unique, & odd.

To fully enjoy this blog post, you probably need to have this song playing in the background. After the craziest couple of weeks, this is the song I have on repeat.

Double Shout Out to those who could care less about what other people think about you, your life choices, and your beliefs.

Confession Time: I super struggled with my identity, confidence, and others’ perceptions of me when I was in high school and college. Honestly, sometimes it is still a struggle. Thankfully, not as much.

Our society (and human nature) thrives on being popular & well-liked. Can I be honest for a second? Being popular or famous sounds miserable. Your life is constantly scrutinized and you become obsessed with staying “on top”. Personally, I would rather dance to the beat of my own drum. Find my confidence and identity in Christ. Walk (skip, dance, spin) down the street with my head held high knowing that I am a unique & beautiful daughter of the Creator of the Universe.

So excuse me as I sit on the floor enjoying cheerios with my kiddo, skip down the aisle at Trader Joe’s, tell you that I believe every word of the Bible, or sing (and dance) at a red light without a care in the world.

Because your opinion doesn’t matter – only His does.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet of the nations.” Jeremiah 1:5

253345_581711458528073_2107921444_n

p.s. I miss the beach. Like always.

 

Leave a Reply

