The Kind of Parent I DON’T Want to Be

As a teacher, I see parents a lot. I see their interactions with their kids. I hear their kids’ opinions of them. So on and so forth.

We have had parent-teacher conferences the last few days, and they usually show me what kind of parent I want to be and (more importantly) what kind of parent I don’t want to be.

I don’t want to…

  1. Care more about my kid’s grades than who they are as a person.
  2.  Berate/put down my kid in front of others. Disrespectful!
  3. Put dishes/cleaning/errands above my kid’s needs.
  4. Make snap judgments or rude accusations before asking questions.
  5. Make them question my love for them.
  6. Make them question my love for God.

Will I do these things at some point or another? Probably. Will it break my heart? 100% yes.

We had a successful weekend of swim lessons, park trips, and long naps! #motherhood #momlife #toddler #letthembelittle #slowliving

Parenthood is hard. We’re humans, so we make mistakes. With that said, parents are the biggest role model in their kid’s life. So what they say/do is (sometimes) forever etched in their kid’s heart & mind.
This little girl and I are halfway there!! #20weeks #pregnancy #bump #motherhood #momlife

**DISCLAIMER: MY parents are wonderful folks & I was unbelievably blessed to feel loved, supported, and cared for always! Love you, mom & dad! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

