Becoming a Stay-at-Home-Mom

I have been working toward (and dreaming about) being a SAHM ever since my son was born in May 2015. It took awhile, but I finally got here! My husband and I decided to take a leap of faith and have me stay home with my son Isaac and my (soon-to-be) daughter Julia.

My last day of work was December 21 – a full month before my daughter was due. I had all of these glorious plans:
1. Set Up a Schedule for my 19-month-old.
2. Spend some time settling into our new place (boxes were scattered about everywhere).
3. Enjoy a nice & easy Christmas.
4. Start going to the local Mom’s Group events.

The list went on…

Do you see where I’m going with this? Obviously, NONE of this was accomplished because baby girl decided to join us on December 22. My water broke after a night of food poisoning less than 24 hours after my last day of work. (Birth Story coming SOON!)

Holy toldeo batman.

I was SO not prepared for THAT early of an arrival. We were so unprepared, but she had her own timing (and thankfully was extremely healthy & HUGE for a 35 weeker – 6lb 8 oz).

So instead of gradually joining the SAHM world, I feel like I was thrown into the deep end. I’m juggling a 19-month-old (one who is STRUGGLING with not being the sole center of attention) and a newborn. We’re almost two months in now, and so far so good. Only a few meltdowns (from the kiddos & this mama bird!), a couple of tears (mostly from the toddler), and lots of smiles.

I am excited about this journey, even though I know that there will be days that seem endless and impossible.

If you need me, I will be right here – babe in arms & coffee by my side. ❤ (Birth Story will be up TOMORROW!)

Coffee and cuddles. All day everyday. #momlife #motherhood #newborn #babiesofinstagram #candidchildhood #2under2 #sahm #sahmlife #pregnancy #igmotherhood #slowliving #livesimply #letthembelittle

Leave a Reply

