Freedom from Social Media

I’m a sensitive person (am I allowed to say that?). I never watch the news because the stories will stick with me and haunt me. I struggle with nightmares. I have to be really careful about what I watch or read. My mama heart is sensitive.

Lately, I have been MAJORLY overdoing it with social media. I find myself constantly checking my Instagram. My phone is always buzzing with facebook notifications. Most of social media is nothingness – photos, silly statuses, etc. But over the past few days there have been articles, stories, and photos that have haunted me. Stories about human trafficking, articles about 6-month-olds being beaten to death, and photos of car accidents.

Maybe it’s  because I have a little one (and spend nights nursing her with nothing but my thoughts) or I’m just sensitive, but I just can’t.

I deleted social media from my phone today *gasp* and this is what happened:

  • I sat on the patio with my kids.
  • I watched the sun set while rocking my daughter to sleep and watching my son play with his cars.
  • I made a delicious dinner.
  • I wrote in my journal.
  • I misplaced my phone – and didn’t notice for over an hour.

It is time for the real world – being present – and avoiding the pain that can come from social media and constantly being in the know.

Here’s to time with family, time to unwind, and time to unplug. ❤

My hubby and I were talking this weekend about how we need to stop

My little nature lover - running through the stream shoes and all!

Taking a break from my spring cleaning / purging goals for this month and drinking some iced coffee in this gorgeous weather! Literally found a box today filled with random cords, electric bills from 3 moves ago, and an old science binder from high school! Needless to say, I have a BIG pile leaving our home today!! #minimalism #minimalistic #springcleaning #motherhood #momlifeisthebestlife #momlife #sahm #coffee #2under2 #slowliving #livesimply #liveauthentic
Big smiles after church. #motherhood #momlifeisthebestlife #momlife #2under2 #family #sundayfunday #slowliving #livesimply #candidchildhood #desert #arizona

Leave a Reply

